skip navigation
Here's how you know US flag signifying that this is a United States Federal Government website

An official website of the United States government

Here's how you know

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

  • Press Release

New FEC Commissioners Take Office

January 6, 2006

For Immediate Release
January 9, 2006
Contact: Bob Biersack
Ian Stirton
Kelly Huff
George Smaragdis



WASHINGTON – Robert D. Lenhard, Hans A. von Spakovsky, and Steven T. Walther have been sworn-in as members of the Federal Election Commission (FEC).  They were nominated by President Bush on December 16, 2005, and appointed by the President on January 4, 2006. Their names have been submitted to the Senate for confirmation.

The six-member Commission is responsible for administering and enforcing the Federal Election Campaign Act which regulates the financing of campaigns for President, U.S. Senate, and U.S. House of Representatives. By law no more than three Commissioners can be members of one political party.

Commissioner Lenhard, a Democrat, and Commissioner von Spakovsky, a Republican, would serve six year terms that expire on April 30, 2011. Commissioner Walther, a Democrat will assume a term that expires on April 30, 2009.  They join FEC Chairman Michael Toner, and Commissioners David Mason and Ellen Weintraub.

Chairman Toner commented “The President has nominated a group of outstanding people to serve on the Commission.  They bring a wealth of background and experience to the FEC and will be terrific commissioners.  I look forward to serving with all the new commissioners to meet the challenges that lie ahead for the FEC.”

The next open meeting of the Commission will be Thursday, January 19, 2006 at 10 a.m. at the Commission’s offices at 999 E Street N.W. in Washington.


# # #  

blockquote <lockquote> <lockquote> blockquote




<lockquote> blockquote