skip navigation
Here's how you know US flag signifying that this is a United States Federal Government website

An official website of the United States government

Here's how you know

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

  • Press Release

FEC welcomes new Senate electronic filing requirement

September 21, 2018

WASHINGTON – The Federal Election Commission welcomed a new statutory provision making the Commission, effective immediately, the point of entry for all filings required under the Federal Election Campaign Act (FECA). The Commission has included this requirement among its legislative recommendations to Congress since as early as 1977.

The legislation signed today by President Trump requires Senate filers to file campaign finance disclosure reports with the Commission, rather than with the Secretary of the Senate, which makes Senate reports subject to the same electronic filing requirements as other committees.

“We are pleased that the Senate has taken this important step,” said Chair Caroline C. Hunter. “Electronically filed reports will accelerate public disclosure of campaign finance activity, improve accuracy and result in significant savings for taxpayers.”

"This reform has been a long time coming. It's a big win for taxpayers and transparency,” said Vice Chair Ellen L. Weintraub.

The Commission has issued guidance for Senate committees to follow in order to obtain an electronic filing password and to file their next report electronically.

The Federal Election Commission (FEC) is an independent regulatory agency that administers and enforces federal campaign finance laws. The FEC has jurisdiction over the financing of campaigns for the U.S. House of Representatives, the U.S. Senate, the Presidency and the Vice Presidency. Established in 1975, the FEC is composed of six Commissioners who are nominated by the President and confirmed by the U.S. Senate.