skip navigation
Here's how you know US flag signifying that this is a United States Federal Government website

An official website of the United States government

Here's how you know

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

  • Press Release

Shana M. Broussard elected Chair, Allen Dickerson elected Vice Chair for 2021

December 22, 2020

WASHINGTON—The Federal Election Commission has elected Shana M. Broussard to serve as Chair and Allen Dickerson as Vice Chair for 2021.

Commissioners Broussard and Dickerson were sworn in as Commissioners last week, along with Commissioner Sean J. Cooksey. The three were nominated by President Donald J. Trump and confirmed by the United States Senate earlier this month.

Commissioner Broussard of Louisiana joined the Commission in 2008 as an attorney in the Enforcement Division of the Office of General Counsel. Beginning in 2015, she served on detail as Counsel for Commissioner Steven T. Walther. Commissioner Broussard earned her B.A. from Dillard University and her J.D. cum laude from Southern University Law Center.

Commissioner Dickerson served as Legal Director of the Institute for Free Speech, where he led a nationwide First Amendment litigation practice, from 2011 to 2020. Previously, he was an Associate with Kirkland & Ellis LLP and advised the Republican Governors Association. Commissioner Dickerson, who also serves as a Judge Advocate in the United States Army Reserve, is a graduate of Yale College and New York University School of Law.  

The Federal Election Commission (FEC) is an independent regulatory agency that administers and enforces federal campaign finance laws. The FEC has jurisdiction over the financing of campaigns for the U.S. House of Representatives, the U.S. Senate, the Presidency and the Vice Presidency. Established in 1975, the FEC is composed of six Commissioners who are nominated by the President and confirmed by the U.S. Senate.