skip navigation
  • Press Release

Lee Goodman to depart Federal Election Commission

February 7, 2018

WASHINGTON – Lee E. Goodman, who joined the Federal Election Commission in 2013 and served as Chairman in 2014, will leave the Commission on February 16.  He plans to return to the private practice of law with the Wiley Rein LLP law firm in Washington, DC. 

“It has been my honor and privilege to serve the American people and to protect their First Amendment freedoms of political speech and association," said Commissioner Goodman.  “The FEC has a unique mandate to balance First Amendment rights with the regulation of political activities and I have discharged that duty faithfully.”

Commissioner Goodman was sworn in on October 23, 2013.  He submitted his resignation to the White House today.

Commission Chair Caroline C. Hunter said, “Lee served the FEC and our country as a happy warrior in support of free speech rights for the press and political parties and for strong freedoms for political discourse on the internet.  He was a tireless defender of First Amendment freedoms and brought a keen understanding of the law and thoughtful approach to enforcement, policy, and litigation matters before the FEC.”

Before coming to the Commission, Commissioner Goodman practiced political law in private practice for over a decade and he served in several governmental posts in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  He served as legal counsel and policy advisor to the Governor of Virginia and the Attorney General of Virginia, chief of staff to the Chairman of the Congressional Advisory Commission on Electronic Commerce, and Special Assistant Attorney General for the University of Virginia. 

Commissioner Goodman received a B.A. with highest distinction from the University of Virginia and a J.D. from the University of Virginia School of Law.

The Federal Election Commission (FEC) is an independent regulatory agency that administers and enforces federal campaign finance laws. The FEC has jurisdiction over the financing of campaigns for the U.S. House of Representatives, the U.S. Senate, the Presidency and the Vice Presidency. Established in 1975, the FEC is composed of six Commissioners who are nominated by the President and confirmed by the U.S. Senate.