skip navigation
Here's how you know US flag signifying that this is a United States Federal Government website

An official website of the United States government

Here's how you know

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

  • Commission Meetings

June 27-28, 2018 Public Hearing on Internet Communication Disclaimers and Definition of “Public Communication”

June 27, 2018 - June 28, 2018

The Commission considers new regulations and other public matters at public hearings at FEC headquarters, 1050 First Street NE, Washington, DC. Members of the public can attend public hearings in person. Public hearings are also streamed live online. To attend in person, please bring a photo ID and be prepared to go through a security check. After security, attendees are escorted to the Commission's hearing room. Please check the meeting page for updates to the agenda, including cancellations.


Wednesday, June 27, 2018 through Thursday, June 28, 2018  |  09:30 AM

  1. Wednesday, June 27, 2018 | 09:30 AM

    9:30 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. Opening Remarks

    10:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. Panel I

    1. Allen Dickerson, Legal Director, Institute for Free Speech
    2. Brendan Fischer, Director, Federal Reform, Campaign Legal Center
    3. Paul S. Ryan, Vice President, Policy & Litigation, Common Cause
    4. Ilya Shapiro, Senior Fellow in Constitutional Studies, Cato Institute

    11:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. Lunch Break

    1:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. Panel II

    1. Dave Grimaldi, Executive Vice President, Public Policy, Interactive Advertising Bureau
    2. Joseph Jerome, Policy Counsel, Center for Democracy & Technology
    3. Young Mie Kim, Ph.D., Professor, School of Journalism and Mass Communication, University of Wisconsin
    4. Berin Szóka, President, TechFreedom

    2:45 p.m. - 4:15 p.m. Panel III

    1. Dan Backer, Counsel, Coolidge-Reagan Foundation
    2. Victor E. Bernson, Jr., Vice President and General Counsel, Americans for Prosperity
    3. Craig Holman, Ph.D., Government Affairs Lobbyist, Public Citizen
    4. Ian Vandewalker, Senior Counsel, Democracy Program, Brennan Center for Justice
  2. Thursday, June 28, 2018 | 09:30 AM

    9:30 a.m. - 9:35 a.m. Opening Remarks

    9:35 a.m. - 10:45 a.m. Panel IV

    1. Christine Bannan, Administrative Law and Policy Fellow, Electronic Privacy Information Center
    2. Doug Hochberg, Chief Digital Officer, Republican National Committee
    3. Chris Nolan, Founder/Chief Executive Officer, Spot-On

    11:00 a.m. – 12:10 p.m. Panel V

    1. Theodore Peterson, Digital Director, NRCC
    2. Thomas Reiker, Deputy Digital Director, NRSC
    3. Carmen Scurato, Vice President, Policy & General Counsel, National Hispanic Media Coalition, on behalf, also, of Asian Americans Advancing Justice and Color of Change

    12:10 p.m. Closing Remarks