skip navigation
  • Press Release

FEC Names Lisa J. Stevenson Acting General Counsel

September 22, 2016

WASHINGTON — The Federal Election Commission today named Lisa J. Stevenson as Acting General Counsel.

Ms. Stevenson joined the Commission in May 2012, serving as Special Counsel to the General Counsel. In October 2012, she was named Deputy General Counsel for Law, where she advised the General Counsel and assisted in overseeing all of the organizational units of the Office of General Counsel, including Policy, Litigation, and Enforcement.

“We greatly appreciate Lisa's willingness to accept this position and know that she will provide excellent leadership and guidance in this capacity,” Chairman Matthew S. Petersen said as he announced the Acting General Counsel’s appointment.

Prior to her work at the Commission, Ms. Stevenson was a Partner at Zuckerman Spaeder LLP. Prior to joining Zuckerman Spaeder, she was an Associate with Covington & Burling from 1997 to 2005, and she served as Law Clerk to Honorable Judge James Robertson of the United States District Court for the District of Columbia from 1996 to 1997.

Ms. Stevenson is a 1992 magna cum laude graduate of Amherst College and she received her law degree from the University of Michigan in 1996.

The Federal Election Commission (FEC) is an independent regulatory agency that administers and enforces federal campaign finance laws. The FEC has jurisdiction over the financing of campaigns for the U.S. House of Representatives, the U.S. Senate, the Presidency and the Vice Presidency. Established in 1975, the FEC is composed of six Commissioners who are nominated by the President and confirmed by the U.S. Senate.