skip navigation
  • Press Release

FEC issues two advisory opinions

January 25, 2017

WASHINGTON – The Federal Election Commission today issued two advisory opinions.

Advisory Opinion Request 2016-26 (Green Party of Florida)

The Commission approved an advisory opinion in response to a request from the Green Party of Florida (the Committee). The Commission concluded that the Committee qualifies as the state committee of a national political party under the Federal Election Campaign Act of 1971, as amended, and Commission regulations.

Advisory Opinion Request 2016-25 (Mike Pence for Indiana)

The Commission approved an advisory opinion in response to Mike Pence for Indiana, the campaign committee of Vice President Pence’s previous campaign for Governor of Indiana. The Commission concluded that the requestor may use nonfederal funds to pay for the storage of state campaign assets, legal or accounting expenses necessary to comply with state disclosure requirements applicable to state committees, and legal or accounting expenses for winding down the state campaign, provided that such spending is consistent with state law. During the discussion, the Commission heard from counsel for the requestor.

Proposed Amendment to Directive 17

The Commission held over discussion of a proposed amendment to Directive 17, addressing the certification of Commission tally votes in which fewer than four Commissioners cast approvals and all other Commissioners ''object for the record."

Approval of Payment for Travel Expenses

The Commission held over until the next scheduled open meeting discussion of the approval of payment for travel expenses in response to an official invitation.

The Federal Election Commission (FEC) is an independent regulatory agency that administers and enforces federal campaign finance laws. The FEC has jurisdiction over the financing of campaigns for the U.S. House of Representatives, the U.S. Senate, the Presidency and the Vice Presidency. Established in 1975, the FEC is composed of six Commissioners who are nominated by the President and confirmed by the U.S. Senate.