

## FEDERAL ELECTION COMMISSION Washington, DC 20463

## CERTIFIED MAIL RETURN RECEIPT REQUESTED AND ELECTRONIC MAIL

Dan Backer Committee to Defend the President 208 S. Union Street, Suite 300 Alexandria, VA 22314

RE: MUR 7304

Dear Mr. Backer:

This letter replaces my letter mailed to you on May 3, 2019.

On April 25, 2019, the Federal Election Commission reviewed the allegations in your complaints dated December 15, 2017 and July 31, 2018, against Hillary Victory Fund and Elizabeth Jones in her official capacity as treasurer, Hillary for America and Jose H. Villarreal in his official capacity as treasurer, Hillary Clinton, the DNC Services Corporation/Democratic National Committee and William Q. Derrough in his official capacity as treasurer, the Alaska Democratic Party and Carolyn Covington in her official capacity as treasurer, the Democratic Party of Arkansas and Dawne Vandiver in her official capacity as treasurer, the Colorado Democratic Party and Rita Simas in her official capacity as treasurer, the Democratic State Committee (Delaware) and Helene Keeley in her official capacity as treasurer, the Democratic Executive Committee of Florida and Francesca Menes in her official capacity as treasurer, the Georgia Federal Elections Committee and Kip Carr in his official capacity as treasurer, the Idaho State Democratic Party and A.J. Balukoff in his official capacity as treasurer, the Indiana Democratic Congressional Victory Committee and Henry Fernandez in his official capacity as treasurer, the Iowa Democratic Party and Ken Sagar in his official capacity as treasurer, the Kansas Democratic Party and Bill Hutton in his official capacity as treasurer, the Kentucky State Democratic Executive Committee and M. Melinda Karns in her official capacity as treasurer, the Democratic State Central Committee of LA and Sean Bruno in his official capacity as treasurer. the Maine Democratic Party and Betty Johnson in her official capacity as treasurer, the Massachusetts Democratic State Committee-Federal Fund and Paul G. Yorkis in his official capacity as treasurer, the Michigan Democratic State Central Committee and Sandy O'Brien in her official capacity as treasurer, the Minnesota Democratic-Farmer-Labor Party and Tyler Moroles in his official capacity as treasurer, the Mississippi Democratic Party PAC and Ryan Brown in his official capacity as treasurer, the Missouri Democratic State Committee and Cydney Mayfield in her official capacity as treasurer, the Montana Democratic Party and Sandi Luckey in his official capacity as treasurer, the Nevada State Democratic Party and Jan Churchill in her official capacity as treasurer, the New Hampshire Democratic Party and Brian Rapp in his official capacity as treasurer, the New Jersey Democratic State Committee and Kelly Stewart

Maer in her official capacity as treasurer, the Democratic Party of New Mexico and Robert Lara in his official capacity as treasurer, the North Carolina Democratic Party-Federal and Anna Tilghman in her official capacity as treasurer, the Ohio Democratic Party and Fran Alberty in her official capacity as treasurer, the Oklahoma Democratic Party and Rachael Hunsucker in her official capacity as treasurer, the Democratic Party of Oregon and Eddy Morales in his official capacity as treasurer, the Pennsylvania Democratic Party and John A. Hanna in his official capacity as treasurer, the Rhode Island Democratic State Committee and Jeffrey Padwa in his official capacity as treasurer, the Democratic Party of South Carolina and Kathryn Hensley in her official capacity as treasurer, the South Dakota Democratic Party-Federal and Bill Nibblelink in his official capacity as treasurer, the Tennessee Democratic Party and Geeta McMillan in her official capacity as treasurer, the Texas Democratic Party and Gilberto Hinojosa in his official capacity as treasurer, the Utah State Democratic Committee and Peter Corroon in his official capacity as treasurer, the Democratic Party of Virginia and Barbara Klear in her official capacity as treasurer, the West Virginia State Democratic Executive Committee and Jerry Brookover in his official capacity as treasurer, the Democratic Party of Wisconsin and Randy Udell in his official capacity as treasurer, and the Wy. Democratic State Central Committee and Chris Russell in his official capacity as treasurer, (collectively "Respondents").

Based on the information provided in your complaints and information provided by Respondents, the Commission was equally divided on whether to find reason to believe that Respondents violated the Federal Election Campaign Act of 1971, as amended (the "Act"). Accordingly, the Commission closed its file in this matter:

Documents related to the case will be placed on the public record within 30 days. See Disclosure of Certain Documents in Enforcement and Other Matters, 81 Fed. Reg. 50,702 (Aug. 2, 2016). A Statement of Reasons providing a basis for the Commission's decision will follow.

The Act allows a complainant to seek judicial review of the Commission's dismissal of this action. See 52 U.S.C. § 30109(a)(8). If you have any questions, please contact Jonathan Peterson, the attorney assigned to this matter, at (202) 694-1525.

Sincerely,

Lisa Stevenson Acting General Counsel

BY: Lynn Y. Tran

Assistant General Counsel