fec2.jpg (8897 bytes)

Federal Election Commission

Election Administration Advisory Panel Meeting

May 4th & 5th 2001

The Wyndham Baltimore Inner Harbor


Friday, May 4th


Liberty Foyer




Liberty B



Welcome/Opening Remarks:
  • Danny Lee McDonald, Chairman, Federal Election Commission
  • Penelope Bonsall, Director, Office of Election Administration


Contested Elections & Recounts 2000:
  • Florida -- Gertrude Walker, Supervisor of Elections,. Lucie, Co., FL
  • New Mexico -- Denise Lamb, Director of Elections, New Mexico
  • Washington -- Gary McIntosh, Director of Elections, Washington

11:00- 11:15am


11:15 -12:30

Issues 2000:

Views on Accessibility—

  • Jim Dickson, National Organization on Disability

Views from the Justice Department

  • Brian Heffernan, Sr. Trial Attorney, U.S. DOJ

Views on the NVRA

  • Office of Election Administration Staff

Liberty A


12:30 - 2:00pm

Lunch Hosted by the Federal Election Commission

2:00 -2:30pm

NASS Task Force Report
  • Ron Thornburgh, Kansas Secretary of State

2:30 - 3:00pm

Election Center Task Force Report—
  • Doug Lewis, Director, The Election Center, Lance Ward, Oklahoma State Election Board. Co-Chair, Election Center Task Force

3:00 - 3:15pm


3:15 - 3:45pm

IACREOT Review Commission—
  • Lance Gough, Exec. Dir., Chicago Board of Election Commissioners

3:45 - 4:15pm

NACO/Commission on Election Standards & Reform--
  • Dr. Robert Montjoy, Auburn University, NACO Commission Member

4:15 - 4:45pm

NCSL Election Reform Task Force Report—
  • Susan Frederick, Director, NCSL Law & Justice Committee

Liberty A

6:30 - 8:30pm

Opening Reception, The Wyndham Hotel Inner Harbor

Saturday, May 5th


Liberty B


9:00 - 10:30am

Budget Discussion & Future Role of the Office of Election Administration--FEC Finance Committee:
  • Vice Chairman David Mason, Committee Chair
  • Chairman Danny Lee McDonald
  • Commissioner Karl Sandstrom

10:30 - 10:45am


10:45 - 11:15am

Human Interface and Voting Technology Issues—
  • Susan King Roth Department of Industrial, Interior and Visual Communication Design , Ohio State University


Voting Systems Standards Update—
  • Penelope Bonsall, Director, Office of Election Administration
  • Dennis Berg, Project Manager, AMS

Times of Agenda topics are subject to change.