Press Office
999 E Street, NW., Washington, D.C. 20463
Phone: Local 202-213-4155 Toll Free 800-424-9530

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: CONTACT: FRED EILAND
JUNE 10, 1992 SHARON SNYDER

SCOTT MOXLEY
CAMPAIGN CITED BY FEC FOR FAILURE TO FILE PRE-CONVENTION REPORT

WASHINGTON —-- Utah will hold a Democratic convention on June 12 and 13,
1992. Provisions of the Federal Election Campaign Act require
committees supporting candidates involved in the convention to file
reports of their financial activity 12 days before the election.

As of 5 p.m., June 9, a disclosure report from the following
committee had not been filed:

UT/03...0RTON FOR CONGRESS... STEVEN SCHONE, TREAS...BILL ORTON...DEM

The report was to jnclude financial activity from April 1 through
May 24. If sent certified or registered mail, the report should have
been postmarked by May 29. Otherwise, the due date was
close—of-business June 1.

Some individuals and their committees have no obligation to file
reports under federal election law, even though their names may appear
on state ballots. If an jndividual raises or spends less than $5,000,
he is she is not considered a "candidate" and doesn’t have to report.

The FEC notified the committees involved in the convention of their
potential filing requirements on May 8. Those committees which did not
file on the due date were notified on June 2, that reports had not been
received and that their names would be published if they did not respond

within four business days.
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Other political committees supporting Senate and House candidates
in elections (those which are not authorized units of a candidate’s

campaign) also are required to file pre-primary reports, unless they
report monthly. Those committee names are not published by the FEC.

Further Commission action against non-filers and late filers is
decided on a case-by-case basis. Federal law gives the FEC broad
authority to initiate enforcement actions, including the imposition of
civil penalties ($5,000 for "any violation" and $10,000 for any "knowing

and willful" violation).




