

AGENDA DOCUMENT NO. 13-29

OF THE FEDERAL ELECTION COMMISSION THURSDAY, JULY 11, 2013

PRESENT: Ellen L. Weintraub, Chair, presiding

Donald F. McGahn II, Vice Chairman

Caroline C. Hunter, Commissioner

Matthew S. Petersen, Commissioner

Steven T. Walther, Commissioner

Patricia Orrock, Chief Compliance Officer, representing Alec Palmer, Staff Director

Lisa J. Stevenson, Deputy General Counsel – Law, representing Anthony Herman, General Counsel

Shawn Woodhead Werth, Secretary and Clerk

Chair Ellen L. Weintraub called the Federal Election Commission to order in an open meeting at 10:13 A.M. on Thursday, July 11, 2013 with a quorum present.

Chair Weintraub stated that Commissioner Walther was participating in today's meeting by telephone.

I. DRAFT FINAL RULES AND EXPLANATION AND JUSTIFICATION ON CIVIL MONETARY PENALTIES INFLATION ADJUSTMENTS

Agenda Document No. 13-25 (Submitted Late)

Chair Weintraub recognized Vice Chairman McGahn who

MOVED to suspend the rules on the timely submission of agenda documents in order that the Commission may consider Agenda Document No. 13-25.

The motion carried by a vote of 5-0 with Commissioners Hunter, McGahn, Petersen, Walther, and Weintraub voting affirmatively for the decision.

Chair Weintraub recognized Ms. Jessica Selinkoff of the General

Counsel's Office who summarized the Draft Final Rules and Explanation and

Justification. The Draft Final Rules would adjust the Commission's civil

monetary penalties for inflation in compliance with the Federal Civil

Penalties Inflation Adjustment Act of 1990 which requires that the

Commission undertake these adjustments at least once every 4 years. The Commission last undertook this process in July 2009. Ms. Selinkoff also asked for authority to make any technical and conforming amendments as the document is prepared for publication in the Federal Register.

Discussion followed.

Chair Weintraub recognized Vice Chairman McGahn who

MOVED to approve Agenda Document No. 13-25 and authorize the Office of the General Counsel to make any technical and conforming amendments.

The motion carried by a vote of 5-0 with Commissioners Hunter, McGahn, Petersen, Walther, and Weintraub voting affirmatively for the decision.

II. MANAGEMENT AND ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS

There being no further business to come before the Commission, the meeting adjourned at 10:16 A.M.

Signed:

Ellen L. Weintraub
Chair of the Commission

Attest:

Shawn Woodhead Werth
Secretary and Clerk of the Commission