

## AGENDA DOCUMENT No. 10-51 APPROVED AUGUST 26, 2010

# MINUTES OF AN OPEN MEETING OF THE FEDERAL ELECTION COMMISSION <u>THURSDAY, JULY 29, 2010</u>

PRESENT:	Matthew S. Petersen, Chairman, presiding
	Cynthia L. Bauerly, Vice Chair
	Caroline C. Hunter, Commissioner
	Donald F. McGahn II, Commissioner
	Steven T. Walther, Commissioner
	Ellen L. Weintraub, Commissioner
	Alec Palmer, Acting Staff Director
	Thomasenia P. Duncan, General Counsel
	Darlene Harris, Deputy Secretary

#### **Chairman Matthew S. Petersen called the Federal Election**

Commission to order in an open meeting at 10:05 A.M. on Thursday,

July 29, 2010, with a quorum present.

#### I. CORRECTION AND APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Minutes for July 15, 2010 Agenda Document No. 10-44

Minutes for July 22, 2010 Agenda Document No. 10-46

Chairman Petersen recognized Vice Chair Bauerly, who

MOVED to approve the Minutes for the open meetings of Thursday, July 15, 2010 and July 22, 2010, as set forth in Agenda Documents No. 10-44 and No. 10-46, respectively.

The motion carried on a vote of 6-0 with Commissioners Bauerly,

Hunter, McGahn, Petersen, Walther and Weintraub voting affirmatively.

#### II. DRAFT ADVISORY OPINION 2010-13

<u>Libertarian Party of Florida by Mr. James Tall,</u> <u>Treasurer</u>

Agenda Document No. 10-45

Chairman Petersen recognized Mr. Eric Spengler of the General Counsel's Office who presented the draft advisory opinion concerning the application of the Federal Election Campaign Act of 1971, as amended (the "Act"), and Commission regulations to the Libertarian Party of Florida's status as a State committee of a political party.

Chairman Petersen recognized Vice Chair Bauerly who

MOVED to adopt Draft Advisory Opinion 2010-13, as set forth in Agenda Document No. 10-45.

Federal Election Commission Minutes of an Open Meeting July 29, 2010

The motion carried on a vote of 6-0 with Commissioners Bauerly,

Hunter, McGahn, Petersen, Walther and Weintraub voting affirmatively.

### III. MANAGEMENT AND ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS

There being no further business to come before the Commission,

the meeting adjourned at 10:08 A.M.

Signed:

Matthew S. Petersen Chairman of the Commission

Attest: Shawn Workland Well

Shawn Woodhead Werth / Secretary and Clerk of the Commission